webinar register page

Critically appraising India's education policy
Panel discussion hosted by InSAF India for the EU-India People’s Summit

6 May 2021

2:30pm BST / 3:30 pm CEST / 9:30am EDT / 7pm IST

Although the right to education, the autonomy of research and the freedom to think independently and dissent against government are values enshrined in India’s constitution, not all its citizens have equal access to these public goods. Deeply ingrained social hierarchies, gender inequalities, linguistic barriers and economic disparities continue to haunt India’s educational infrastructure. How does India’s current education policy respond to these challenges? What are the educational visions of the current political dispensation? How do India’s ambitions to be a global player in the ‘knowledge industry’ measure against its actual investments in equitable access to education in the country? This panel in the EU-India People’s Summit will critically appraise the economic, political and social justice dimensions of India’s current policies on education and research.

Panellists:
Anita Rampal Professor and former Dean, Faculty of Education, Delhi University, India

Mohammed Abdul Kalam Former Dean and Professor of Anthropology, SRM University, former Dean and Professor of Anthropology, Krea University, former Professor of Eminence, Tezpur Central University, former Chairperson (Dean), School of Social Sciences, and Professor and Head, Department of Anthropology, University of Madras, India

Shreya Khaitan, Writer and editor at Indiaspend

Moderation:
Laila Kadiwal Lecturer, Education and International Development, UCL Institute of Education, UK
and
Sruti Bala, Associate Professor, Theatre Studies, University of Amsterdam

May 6, 2021 03:30 PM in Amsterdam

Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: InSAF India.